CRC Members Elect Two New Board Directors
2023 CRC Board Of Directors Election

Austin, Minn. – The results of Cooperative Response Center, Inc.’s (CRC’s) recent board of directors election were announced at its June 18, 2023, annual membership meeting revealing its two newest board members: Chris Chastain, president and CEO at RushShelby Energy Electric Cooperative in Manilla, Ind., and Mike Scheib, CEO at Tri-County Electric Cooperative in Lancaster, Mo.

Chastain has 26 years of utility and consulting experience. He has worked for RushShelby Energy since 2006 when he joined as the vice president of engineering and has served as president and CEO since October 2021. Chastain was elected to an at-large board seat for a three-year term.

Scheib has two decades of experience and background in the utility industry. Scheib replaces former at-large director Rod Cotton, former general manager of Farmers’ Electric Cooperative in Chillicothe, Mo., who recently left the cooperative, making him ineligible to serve on CRC’s board. Scheib was elected to a two-year term.

In addition to CRC’s newest board members, two other directors were re-elected to their board seats. Shane Hermetz, general manager and executive vice president at Egyptian Electric Cooperative Association in Murphysboro, Ill., was re-elected to his district 2 board seat and Kelly Hovel, general manager of Goodhue County Cooperative Electric Association in Zumbrota, Minn., was re-elected to his district 1 board seat. Both returning board members were re-elected to three-year terms. Congratulations to our new and returning board members.


After the annual meeting, the board’s directors met and selected the following officers to serve on its executive committee:

Chairman – Scott Peters, CEO of Columbia Rural Electric Association in Walla Walla, Wa., leads a 6,200–meter electric cooperative that serves over 1,300 miles of electric line throughout Walla Walla, Umatilla, and Columbia counties in southeast Washington. Peters has served as board treasurer since March 2023 and as a CRC director since 2019. This will be his first year serving as board chairman.

Vice Chairman – Randy Crenshaw, president and CEO of Irwin EMC in Ocilla, Ga., and general manager of Middle Georgia EMC in Vienna, Ga., leads both cooperatives which serve south-central and central Georgia counties. Combined, the two organizations serve 14 counties and over 21,000 meters. Crenshaw has served on CRC’s board since 2015 and as vice chairman since March 2020.

Treasurer – Hermetz leads a 15,000-meter electric cooperative that operates in 10 southern Illinois counties. Hermetz has served on CRC’s board for one year. This will be his first year serving as board treasurer.

Secretary – Larry Fenbers, general manager/CEO at Carroll Electric Cooperative in Carrollton, Ohio, leads a 12,000-meter electric cooperative that operates in six eastern Ohio counties. Fenbers has served as board secretary since 2014.

About CRC
CRC is a nationwide, cooperatively owned, 24/7 contact center and alarm monitoring center. Founded in 1992, CRC has steadily increased the size and scope of its operation with offices in Austin, Minn., Kirksville, Mo., Dunlap, Tenn., and Abilene, Texas. CRC serves over 530 members and associate members in 47 states, representing over 12 million consumers. Visit CRC on the web at

A- A+